The Presbyterian Writers Guild (PWG) is accepting nominations for its 2016 Best First Book Award, honoring the best first book by a Presbyterian author published during the calendar years of 2014-2015.

The award is given biennially and will be presented June 23, 2016 during the 222nd General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) in Portland, Ore. 

Deadline for submissions is March 15, 2016.

The award was established in 1996 by the Guild and the estate of the late James W. Angell, a prolific and respected Presbyterian writer, as a means to recognize and encourage new writers. It is now sponsored by the Guild and the Presbyterian Publishing Corporation. 

Books may be of any type: fiction, nonfiction, theological, how-to, photos with commentary, poetry, etc. 

Entries may be submitted by the authors or by others on their behalf. Three copies of the book and a brief statement attesting to the author's current active membership in a Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) congregation or presbytery should be sent to the First Book Award Committee, c/o Jerry Van Marter, 2220 Woodbourne Ave., Louisville, KY 40205.

The must be the author's first book and has to have a publication date in 2014 or 2015. Entries should include an email address if the sender wishes to be notified that the books were received. The three copies of the book will not be returned.

Questions about the award or entry process should be directed to Jerry Van Marter by email at jerryvanmarter@gmail.com or by phone at 502-565-6757

Previous Best First Book Award winners are listed at the PWG website.